School Committee
School Committee, March 2019 (l to r): Scott Bokun, Kathleen Lenihan, Dr. Julie Hackett (superintendent), Eileen Jay, Chair, Deepika Sawhney

School Committee Member – 6 years (elected 2016)

  • Chair, School Committee 2018-2020; Vice-Chair, 2020-2022
  • Diversity, Equity and Inclusion CIT (Community Input Team) – working toward designing an integrated DEI curriculum for all students
  • LPS Strategic Plan Synthesis Team – developed & drafted LPS Strategic Plan that outlines the district’s mission, vision, and core values
  • Co-chair, Superintendent Search Committee that led to hiring of Dr. Julie Hackett, in a transparent process with community & staff input
  • Chair, Policy Subcommittee – drafted new policies on homework, field trip/travel, and others
  • School building projects – oversight of new Hastings School, LCP preschool, and middle school additions; planning for high school building
  • Financial Guidelines Working Group – municipal and school advisory group to consider guidelines around financing capital projects and other topics
  • School Committee liaison to School Health Advisory Council (SHAC) – LGBTQ Subcommittee member
  • Student mental health & well-being – continued work on addressing student well-being and mental health
  • Cary Memorial Library Executive Board Member